Applied Mathematics Graduate Student Seminar
Fall 2009 Schedule


MONDAYS from 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM in SAS 4201


Date Presenter Title
August 24 -- Organizational Meeting
August 31 Zack Kenz A Comparison of Nonlinear Filtering Approaches in the Context of an HIV Model
September 7 -- Labor Day School Break
September 14 Karen Bliss Development of a Model for Erythropoiesis in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease
September 21 -- No Meeting
September 28 Ellen Peterson Thin Fluid Films with Surfactant
October 5 Clay Thompson Electromagnetic Detection of Buried Targets after Acoustic Excitation
October 12 -- No Meeting
October 19 Alex Capaldi Subset Selection in the Context of Epidemic Models
October 26 Kathleen Holm An Introduction to Optimal Experimental Designs and Generalized Sensitivity Functions
November 2 Nick Giffen Shock Formation and Breaking In Granular Avalanches
November 9 Francesca D. Reale Statistical Emulator Construction to Improve Model Efficiency for Hysteretic Smart Systems
November 16 Janine Haugh A Reaction-Diffusion Model for Cartilage Regeneration in Cell-Seeded Scaffolds
November 23 Donovan Shickley An Introduction to FDTD Modeling of Metamaterials
November 30 -- No Meeting

If your presentation material (abstract, slides, publication, etc) is available on the web, email the appropriate URLs to Francesca D. Reale


Directory

Faculty

H.T. Banks htbanks@eos.ncsu.edu
Mansoor Haider m_haider@ncsu.edu
Alun Lloyd alun_lloyd@ncsu.edu
Negash Medhin ngmedhin@math.ncsu.edu
Mette Olufsen msolufse@math.ncsu.edu
Michael Shearer shearer@math.ncsu.edu
Ralph Smith rsmith@eos.ncsu.edu
Hien Tran tran@math.ncsu.edu

Post Docs
     

Students

Mikio Aoi mikioaoi@gmail.com Adam Attarian arattari@ncsu.edu
Karen Bliss kmbliss@ncsu.edu Alex Capaldi ajcapald@ncsu.edu
Amanda Criner akcriner@ncsu.edu Lisa Downen lydownen@unity.ncsu.edu
Xiang Fan xfan2@ncsu.edu Nick Giffen njgiffen@ncsu.edu
Janine Haugh janine_haugh@ncsu.edu Kathleen Holm kjholm@ncsu.edu
Zack Kenz zrkenz@ncsu.edu Jessica Matthews jessica_matthews@sra.com
Steve May sfmay@ncsu.edu Ellen Peterson erpeters@ncsu.edu
Francesca Reale-Levis f.d.realelevis@gmail.com Keri Rehm klrehm@gmail.com
Danielle Robbins derobbin@ncsu.edu Donovan Shickley cdshickl@ncsu.edu
Kimberly Spayd krspayd2@ncsu.edu Clay Thompson clayt85@gmail.com
Daniela Valdez-Jasso dvaldez@unity.ncsu.edu Lucas Van Blaircum lmvanbla@ncsu.edu
Nate Wanner ncwanner@ncsu.edu    

Visitors

     


Co-Organizers: Mansoor Haider, Michael Shearer, Ralph Smith.
For questions about the seminar please contact one of the Co-Organizers

This page was last updated on Sunday, November 19, 2009.